Nov 02, 2026

Our client lost his license to practice medicine because of substance abuse issues. These were the same issues causing him to need to file a long-term disability insurance claim; he could no longer work as a physician in a medical office setting. His initial claim was denied—the insurance company took the position that as he was unlicensed, he was no longer a physician and therefore “own occupation” didn’t count. We fought back with an appeal combining case law, published medical studies on the nature of addiction, and more—and won.

When a professional loses the license required to practice, the consequences can extend far beyond the loss of employment. Physicians, attorneys, financial advisors, real estate agents, contractors, and other licensed professionals may face disciplinary proceedings at the same time that a physical or mental health condition prevents them from performing their jobs. When a long-term disability (LTD) insurance claim arises in these circumstances, the overlap can create significant legal and evidentiary challenges.

The central question is often deceptively simple: Is the professional unable to work because of a medical disability, the loss of a professional license, or both?

Disability insurers may argue that a claimant’s inability to work results from a licensing restriction rather than an illness or injury covered by the policy. That position can be particularly contentious when the medical condition itself contributed to the conduct that triggered regulatory action.

Understanding the distinction between medical disability and legal disability—and documenting the relationship between the two—is critical to pursuing LTD benefits.

What Is the Difference Between Medical Disability and Legal Disability?

A long-term disability policy generally defines disability by reference to the insured’s ability to perform occupational duties, subject to the specific policy language. Depending on the contract, the relevant standard may initially focus on the insured’s own occupation and later shift to whether the insured can perform another occupation for which the insured is reasonably suited.

A medical disability exists when a physical or mental health condition prevents the insured from performing the material and substantial duties of the relevant occupation, as defined by the policy.

A legal disability, by contrast, may arise when a person is legally prohibited from practicing an occupation because a required license has been suspended, revoked, restricted, or otherwise rendered inactive.

The distinction matters because a professional can be medically disabled even if a licensing board has also prohibited the person from practicing. Conversely, the loss of a license does not itself establish that the individual satisfies the policy’s definition of disability.

Insurers may rely on policy exclusions, limitations, or arguments concerning legal inability to work to challenge claims involving licensing restrictions. Whether such a provision applies depends on the actual policy language, the facts surrounding the license action, and the governing law.

The relevant inquiry is not simply whether the professional can legally practice today. It is also whether a covered medical condition independently prevents the professional from performing the duties of the insured occupation.

Why Licensing Disputes Create Additional Challenges for LTD Claims

Licensing proceedings and disability claims often develop simultaneously, but they serve different purposes.

A licensing board may be concerned with public safety, professional competence, ethical conduct, compliance with regulatory requirements, or whether a practitioner is fit to continue practicing. An LTD insurer, meanwhile, evaluates whether the insured meets the contractual requirements for benefits.

Those different objectives can produce conflicting conclusions. A board may restrict a physician’s practice because of concerns about cognitive impairment or substance use, while an insurer argues that the resulting inability to work is attributable to the restriction rather than a covered medical condition.

This creates several potential challenges:

  • Causation: Did the medical condition prevent the professional from working before the license was restricted, or did the inability to work arise only after the regulatory action?
  • Policy interpretation: Does the policy contain an applicable legal-disability exclusion or another provision affecting eligibility?
  • Occupational duties: What tasks did the professional actually perform, and how did the medical condition affect the ability to perform them safely and reliably?
  • Medical documentation: Do contemporaneous records establish the condition, its onset, its severity, and its functional consequences?
  • Regulatory evidence: Do licensing records clarify the timeline and distinguish medical impairment from administrative or disciplinary concerns?

These issues require a coordinated approach. A strong regulatory defense does not necessarily establish entitlement to LTD benefits, and a persuasive disability claim does not automatically resolve a licensing dispute.

Why the Timing of the Medical Condition and License Action Matters

The chronology of events can be one of the most important elements of a licensing-related disability claim.

Consider a physician who develops a progressive cognitive disorder, severe tremors, or clinical depression that compromises their ability to examine patients, make treatment decisions, or maintain appropriate clinical judgment. The physician may struggle to perform essential duties before a licensing board intervenes. If the condition subsequently contributes to conduct that triggers a suspension or restriction, the medical evidence may support the position that the disability existed independently of the license action.

Now consider a different situation. A physician loses a license because of administrative fraud, billing violations, or unrelated criminal conduct and only afterward reports depression or anxiety associated with the loss of professional status. An insurer may argue that the inability to practice resulted from the regulatory action, rather than a medical disability covered by the policy.

These examples illustrate why the sequence of events matters, although neither scenario determines the outcome automatically. A later diagnosis does not necessarily mean a condition began later, and an earlier diagnosis does not, by itself, prove occupational disability.

The analysis should examine the onset of symptoms, treatment records, work performance, functional limitations, the date of any license restriction, and the relationship between the medical condition and the professional’s inability to perform occupational duties.

Substance Use Disorders and Professional Disability Claims

Substance use disorders present particularly complicated questions because the condition, its effects on professional conduct, and the resulting regulatory response may overlap.

For example, a physician may develop a substance use disorder that impairs concentration, judgment, reliability, or the ability to practice safely. The physician may subsequently lose a medical license as part of a disciplinary or rehabilitation process. An LTD insurer may then contend that the license restriction, rather than the disorder, prevents the physician from working.

The lesson is not that every substance-related claim must be approved. Rather, a licensing consequence should not substitute for a reasoned evaluation of the medical evidence and the policy’s actual disability standard.

Medical research may help explain the nature of addiction, its course, and its effects on functioning. But the evidence must also connect the claimant’s particular condition to the material duties of the insured occupation. General medical literature is most useful when considered alongside individualized clinical records, treating-provider opinions, and occupational evidence.

How Medical Records and Treatment Gaps Affect a Claim

Medical documentation is important in any LTD claim, but it can become especially consequential when a licensing proceeding provides the insurer with an alternative explanation for the claimant’s inability to work.

Insurers may scrutinize whether the claimant received treatment before the licensing action, when symptoms first appeared, and whether medical records document functional impairment during the relevant period.

If a claimant did not seek treatment until after a license was suspended or revoked, the insurer may argue that the claimed disability arose in response to the professional consequences rather than from an independently disabling condition.

That argument is not necessarily conclusive. People delay seeking treatment for many reasons, including stigma, fear of professional repercussions, financial concerns, or a lack of insight into their symptoms. A diagnosis may also be established after symptoms have existed for some time.

Nevertheless, unexplained gaps in treatment can create avoidable evidentiary problems.

A well-supported claim should establish, where the evidence permits:

  • When symptoms began and how they progressed.
  • When the claimant first sought medical evaluation or treatment.
  • What the medical records show about functional limitations.
  • How the condition affected specific occupational duties.
  • Whether the condition prevented safe, reliable, and sustained performance.
  • How the medical timeline relates to any investigation, disciplinary proceeding, or license restriction.

The goal is to present a coherent, evidence-based account rather than leave the insurer to construct its own interpretation of the chronology.

The Own-Occupation Standard and the Loss of a Professional License

Many LTD policies initially use an “own occupation” definition of disability. The precise definition varies by policy. Some focus on the occupation as performed in the national economy; others contain different language or additional requirements.

A licensing dispute can complicate this analysis because insurers may contend that a person who cannot legally practice no longer has an occupation against which disability can be measured.

The response requires close attention to the contract. The fact that a professional cannot lawfully practice does not necessarily resolve whether a medical condition prevents the person from performing the material duties of the occupation under the policy’s definition. Equally, the fact that the professional has a serious diagnosis does not automatically establish entitlement to benefits.

Evidence should identify the claimant’s actual occupational duties before the disability, the demands of the occupation, and the ways the medical condition affects the ability to perform those duties.

This distinction becomes particularly important when the insurer focuses on licensure status while giving insufficient consideration to the functional limitations supported by the medical record.

The 24-Month Change From Own Occupation to Any Occupation

Many LTD policies change their disability definition after an initial benefit period, commonly around 24 months. Under some policies, the claimant must then establish an inability to perform not only the insured’s own occupation but also another occupation meeting the policy’s specified criteria.

The applicable definition and transition date must be confirmed from the individual contract.

This change can make an already difficult licensing-related claim more vulnerable. An insurer may argue that, even if the claimant cannot return to the licensed profession, the claimant can perform other work consistent with the policy’s requirements.

The analysis should therefore extend beyond the loss of a professional license. Relevant considerations may include the claimant’s medical restrictions, transferable skills, education, work history, cognitive and physical capacity, and the demands of potential alternative occupations.

A claimant should not assume that the initial approval of benefits guarantees continued payment after the definition changes. Medical evidence and occupational analysis should be developed with the policy’s later standard in mind.

ERISA Claims and Professional Licensing Disputes

Employer-sponsored group LTD plans may be governed by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), subject to statutory exceptions. ERISA claims have procedural and evidentiary requirements that differ from those applicable to many individual disability policies.

A licensing dispute introduces an additional layer of complexity because the claimant may need to address regulatory records, medical evidence, occupational requirements, and the insurer’s interpretation of the plan.

Depending on the plan and circumstances, administrative appeal procedures may be particularly important. A claimant should review the denial letter carefully, identify the reasons benefits were denied, and address those reasons with relevant medical, occupational, and legal evidence.

Deadlines and procedural requirements matter. The consequences of an unsuccessful administrative appeal can be significant, and the appropriate strategy depends on the governing plan, applicable law, and procedural posture.

Counsel experienced in both disability insurance disputes and professional licensing matters can help coordinate the issues without assuming that success in one proceeding will automatically determine the other.

Loss-of-License Insurance Versus Long-Term Disability Insurance

Certain professionals, including some airline pilots, may have specialized loss-of-license coverage in addition to traditional disability insurance.

These forms of insurance are not necessarily interchangeable. A loss-of-license policy may provide benefits when a specified licensing event occurs, while an LTD policy generally evaluates disability under its own contractual definition.

When a claimant has multiple policies, disputes may arise over whether benefits under one policy reduce the amount payable under another. The answer depends on the offset language, the nature of the payments, and the terms of the applicable contracts.

Insurers may argue that specialized or association-sponsored benefits should be deducted from LTD payments. Ambiguous policy language can lead to disputes over the scope of permitted offsets, coordination of benefits, or potential duplication of recovery.

Professionals should review all applicable policies together rather than assume that benefits under one form of coverage will be independent of another.

The objective is to establish the medical and contractual basis for the claim while addressing the licensing issue directly and accurately.

Is It a Legal Disability or a Medical Disability?

When a professional loses a license while dealing with a disabling medical condition, the distinction between legal and medical disability can determine the direction of an LTD claim. The analysis depends on the policy language, the chronology of the condition and regulatory action, the claimant’s occupational duties, and the strength of the medical evidence.

A licensing restriction does not automatically establish medical disability, and it does not necessarily eliminate entitlement to benefits. The critical question is whether the claimant can demonstrate that the requirements of the policy are satisfied despite the additional regulatory complications.

These cases can be especially difficult when mental health conditions, substance use disorders, cognitive impairment, or ERISA-governed plans are involved. A carefully developed record and a coordinated legal strategy may be essential to addressing the insurer’s arguments and protecting the claimant’s rights.

Professionals confronting both a licensing action and an LTD denial should consider obtaining legal advice before attempting to navigate these overlapping issues alone.

Jason newfield

Jason Newfield

Long Term Disability Attorney

Founder Jason Newfield understands the importance of the disability claimants’ cases he takes on. Unlike most of his peers, he has represented family in this process. He knows how much is at stake, and this is why he works one-on-one with clients. Your case will not be passed along to a junior associate to handle. Mr. Newfield will be involved in every part of your case. This personal representation makes a big difference. It is where the passion meets the compassion.

Oct 28, 2026

IT Professionals: Why Long-Term Disability Claims Are Often Denied

Long-term disability (LTD) insurers often underestimate the physical demands, cognitive complexity, and...

Read More..
FIle folders for disability accompany an article about the importance of deadlines for disability claims
Oct 22, 2026

Why Are Deadlines So Important to Disability Insurance Claims?

You wouldn’t miss a deadline on an investment generating $160,000. But neglecting...

Read More..
Oct 22, 2026

What Can You Expect from Sun Life Long-Term Disability Insurance Company?

Sun Life is a global insurance giant selling short and long term...

Read More..
Call: 877-406-7883 Free Case Review