Our client was the head of an equity trading desk and West Coast sales team for a global financial institution, making million-dollar decisions in an instant and overseeing multiple teams. His compensation reflected the demands of his position, including substantial performance-based bonuses.
His life changed following a traumatic brain injury at age 59 and he has never fully recovered. Despite medical records documenting serious, persistent impairments and their effects on his physical and mental health, Hartford denied his claim for long-term disability benefits.
The complexity of this case arose from the nature of his injuries, which are not necessarily apparent to an outside observer, and the substantial monthly benefits associated with his compensation. Newfield Law Group’s experience with high-income professionals and long-term disability insurers became central to challenging the denial.
Hartford Long-Term Disability Denials and the ERISA Appeals Process
Long-term disability claims involving highly compensated professionals present distinct evidentiary challenges. An executive may have a sophisticated understanding of financial markets, exceptional professional skills, and a history of performing under pressure. Those attributes, however, do not establish an ability to continue working after a disabling neurological injury.
Under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), eligible participants may challenge adverse benefit determinations under employer-sponsored benefit plans. The governing plan documents, applicable regulations, medical evidence, and the administrative record can all influence the outcome.
For a senior trading executive, the relevant question is not simply whether he can perform isolated tasks. It is whether his documented impairments prevent him from performing the material duties of his occupation, as defined by the applicable disability policy.
A position overseeing institutional trading and sales requires sustained concentration, rapid information processing, sound judgment, emotional regulation, and reliable performance under time pressure. Decisions may involve millions of dollars, with little tolerance for cognitive errors or inconsistent attention.
Disability analysis must account for these actual occupational demands. A conclusion that a claimant can perform basic activities of daily living does not, by itself, establish that he can safely and reliably manage a demanding financial role.
Visual-Vestibular Dysfunction After Traumatic Brain Injury
The claimant’s condition involves several interacting impairments, including severe headaches, visual disturbances, vestibular symptoms, cognitive limitations, and mental health difficulties. The combined effect is central to understanding his functional capacity.
Visual-vestibular integrative dysfunction involves difficulties in the systems responsible for processing visual information and signals relating to balance, movement, and spatial orientation. When these systems do not work together effectively, a person may experience dizziness, disorientation, impaired balance, and difficulty tolerating movement or visually complex environments.
Medical literature recognizes that visual and vestibular disturbances can persist after traumatic brain injury and interfere with mobility and everyday functioning. See Peterson, A case-oriented approach exploring the relationship between visual and vestibular disturbances and problems of higher-level mobility in persons with traumatic brain injury, published in the Journal of Head Trauma Rehabilitation.
Research has documented vestibular abnormalities and postural instability in people with chronic traumatic brain injury.
These findings provide relevant clinical context, although research concerning traumatic brain injury generally cannot independently establish the severity of an individual claimant’s disability. That determination requires an assessment of the claimant’s own medical evidence, symptoms, restrictions, and occupational requirements.
In this case, the treating evidence describes a chronic and permanent condition. Despite multiple treatment approaches addressing visual and vestibular function, the claimant continues to experience significant symptoms. He has difficulty tolerating travel in moving vehicles, watching television, and engaging in ordinary activities that require visual processing or movement.
These limitations are particularly significant when considered against the demands of his former occupation.
Chronic Migraines, Cognitive Impairment, and Functional Capacity
The claimant’s headaches are not an isolated complaint. They occur alongside visual disturbances, nausea, vomiting, vertigo, light sensitivity, sleep disruption, confusion, fatigue, and changes in mood and concentration.
The combined effect of these symptoms is more disabling than any one diagnosis considered separately. A claimant who experiences frequent headaches, cannot tolerate visual stimulation, and struggles to maintain attention is unable to sustain a predictable work schedule, even if he retains some capacity to complete individual tasks.
His medical records included a Mental Abilities and Limitations form identifying substantial restrictions in areas relevant to sustained employment. These include an inability to maintain concentration, attend work regularly, sustain a consistent pace, and perform activities over a prolonged period.
The assessment must also consider symptom frequency, duration, recovery time, and predictability. If headaches and associated symptoms occur persistently, an isolated examination or a brief period of observed functioning may provide an incomplete picture of the claimant’s capacity over a normal workweek.
The claimant’s treating physician, who has followed his condition over an extended period, provides important longitudinal evidence concerning the change in his functioning following the injury. Such evidence must be assessed on its substance and consistency with the complete record, rather than accepted or rejected solely because of the physician’s treating relationship.
Biased Medical Reviewers with a History of Finding for the Insurance Companies
The two reviewing doctors, Drs. Chang and Jenkins are both well known in the long term disability practice sector for years of working for Hartford and other LTD companies and providing insurance company friendly medical reviews. Together, they built a successful third party vender (ECN/GENEX), a large company with hundreds of employees serving the insurance industry with Independent Medical Exams (IMEs), which we believe are anything but independent.
Why Disability Insurers Must Evaluate the Combined Effect of Multiple Conditions
A recurring problem in disability reviews is the tendency to examine each diagnosis separately without adequately assessing how the conditions interact. The medical reviewers are well known for their insurance company friendly reviews, despite overwhelming evidence to the contrary.
They chose to consider headaches in isolation, treat dizziness as a separate complaint, assess cognitive functioning through a limited examination, and evaluate mental health symptoms independently. Even if each review addressed a legitimate medical question, the resulting analysis conveniently failed to answer the ultimate functional question: can the claimant reliably perform the material duties of his occupation?
The relevant assessment must also account for the cumulative impact of the claimant’s impairments, including whether one symptom exacerbates another. For example, visual stimulation may aggravate headaches or dizziness, while pain and disrupted sleep may further diminish concentration and emotional regulation.
The legal significance depends on the policy’s definition of disability and the evidence in the individual claim. Nevertheless, a reasoned determination should connect the medical findings to the specific functional demands of the insured occupation.
ERISA’s claims regulations require disability benefit claims and appeals to be adjudicated through procedures designed to ensure independence and impartiality. They also prescribe requirements for a full and fair review of an adverse determination. See 29 C.F.R. § 2560.503-1.
Where a denial rests on medical judgments, the adequacy of the review depends in part on whether the relevant evidence was considered and whether the conclusions are adequately explained. A reviewer’s credentials alone do not resolve whether the analysis accurately addresses the claimant’s documented limitations.
Independent Medical Reviews and ERISA Conflicts of Interest
Medical and vocational reviewers play an important role in disability claim decisions. Their opinions, however, must by law be evaluated against the complete medical record, the questions they were asked to address, and the reasoning supporting their conclusions.
In this matter, the claimant challenges the conclusions of Hartford’s reviewing professionals, including the treatment of his neurological symptoms and their combined functional effects. The central issue is whether those reviews adequately accounted for the longitudinal evidence and the practical requirements of his occupation.
The United States Supreme Court addressed conflicts of interest in Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v. Glenn, 554 U.S. 105 (2008). This case addresses the structural conflict that arises when an insurer both determines eligibility for benefits and pays those benefits. It underscores the need for a genuinely impartial review
The Court held that an insurer’s dual role in determining eligibility for benefits and paying those benefits creates a conflict of interest that courts must consider when reviewing a discretionary benefit determination. The significance of that conflict depends on the circumstances of the case.
The Court’s analysis also illustrates why the treatment of medical evidence matters. Selective reliance on favorable reports, failure to account for contrary evidence, or inconsistencies in the administrator’s reasoning may be relevant when evaluating a challenged determination.
A conflict does not automatically invalidate a denial, and the use of an outside medical reviewer does not, by itself, establish bias. The relevant inquiry is whether the claim was assessed impartially, under the governing plan terms, and through a reasoned consideration of the evidence.
ERISA Appeal Deadlines: Hartford’s Proposed Extension
Procedural compliance is another important issue in this claim. Hartford sent a letter dated October 1, 2026, by regular mail. Newfield Law Group received it on October 8, 2026. The letter reportedly sought to extend the deadline for deciding the claimant’s appeal until November 22, 2026. The claimant expressly objected to the proposed extension.
ERISA regulations establish specific time limits for disability benefit appeals. Under 29 C.F.R. § 2560.503-1(i)(1)(i) and (i)(3), an administrator generally must issue its decision within 45 days after receiving the appeal. A permissible extension of up to an additional 45 days may be available when special circumstances require additional time, subject to the applicable notice and procedural requirements.
An extension is not unlimited discretion to postpone a decision. The administrator must provide timely written notice identifying the special circumstances requiring an extension and the anticipated decision date. The applicable rules and any plan-specific circumstances must be examined before determining whether a particular extension is valid.
Did Hartford’s October letter comply with ERISA regulations? We believe it did not. Claimants are entitled to expect that administrators will observe the governing deadlines and explain extensions in accordance with the applicable rules. Unexplained or procedurally defective delays can create additional burdens for individuals already coping with serious medical conditions.
What this Case Illustrates About Long-Term Disability Claims
The challenges described here demonstrate why high-stakes disability claims require careful attention to both medical evidence and procedural compliance.
The claimant’s prior professional success does not establish his present capacity. His substantial compensation does not determine whether he meets the policy’s definition of disability. Nor can a diagnosis, considered in isolation, answer whether he can sustain the material duties of a demanding executive position.
The medical record must be evaluated as a whole, with attention to symptom severity, persistence, treatment response, functional restrictions, and the combined effect of neurological, vestibular, cognitive, and psychological impairments.
The legal analysis must be equally disciplined. The plan’s terms, the administrative record, the reasoning underlying the denial, and compliance with ERISA’s claims procedures all matter.
A useful illustration is Zanny v. Kellogg Company and Metropolitan Life Insurance Co., Case No. 4:05-CV-74 (W.D. Mich. June 30, 2006). Judge Richard Alan Enslen criticized MetLife’s handling of a long-term disability claim and remanded the matter for an award of benefits. The opinion contains the often-cited observation that the insurer’s approach to profitability did not allow “piddling things like facts” to intrude on its benefit decisions.
The quotation concerned MetLife, not Hartford, but it does underscore the importance of evidence-based decision-making in ERISA disputes.
Ultimately, a fair disability determination must address the claimant’s actual limitations, not assumptions drawn from appearance, professional background, or isolated medical observations. Where the evidence documents persistent impairments that prevent an individual from performing the material duties of his occupation, the administrator must confront that evidence through a reasoned and procedurally compliant review
Why We Fight for Our Long Term Disability Insurance Clients
Behind every long-term disability appeal is a person whose life has changed irrevocably. For this claimant, the issue is not simply whether benefits should be paid, but whether the evidence of his medical condition and functional limitations has been fairly and fully considered. Disability benefits cannot restore his health or reverse the consequences of his injury. They can, however, provide the financial protection his policy was intended to afford, making an accurate, impartial, and procedurally fair determination all the more important.