Oct 22, 2026

Sun Life is a global insurance giant selling short and long term disability insurance policies directly to employers. More than 60,000 employees across the United States have their long term disability insurance policies through  Sun Life. The company is enormous, trading on the New York Stock Exchange and the Toronto Stock Exchange. The corporate website is loaded with corporate awards and recognition, but none of this matters for the many claimants whose long term disability insurance benefits have been delayed or denied by Sun Life.

Here’s what you need to know about Sun Life and your disability insurance claim.

The Challenges of Pursuing a Sun Life Disability Claim

A long-term disability claim is supposed to provide financial protection when an illness or injury prevents someone from working. For a claimant who has lost the ability to earn a living, benefits may be essential to maintaining a home, paying medical expenses, and supporting a family.

Yet the claims process can become an additional source of uncertainty. Claimants may encounter prolonged delays, repeated requests for documentation, difficulty obtaining clear answers, and decisions that are inconsistent with their treating physicians’ assessments. Some report feeling that the burden of proving their disability never ends, even after submitting extensive medical records.

These concerns deserve careful examination. An insurer has the right to evaluate whether a claim satisfies the governing policy. It does not follow, however, that every denial is justified or that every request for additional information is reasonable. The relevant questions are whether the insurer applied the correct policy provisions, considered the available evidence fairly, and followed the applicable claims procedures.

  1. Delays, Poor Communication, and Repeated Paperwork

One of the most frustrating aspects of a disability claim is the inability to obtain a reliable answer about its status.

Claimants report difficulty reaching representatives, receiving inconsistent explanations, and being asked to resubmit documents they believe have already been provided. When medical records, attending physician statements, or other requested materials cannot be located or acknowledged promptly, the claimant may be left wondering whether the file is complete or whether a decision is imminent.

Sun Life provides online claim submission and tracking options, as well as telephone support. Those channels may be useful, but claimants should preserve their own records rather than assume every submission has been correctly associated with the file.

The consequences of administrative delays can be serious. Disability benefits are often a primary source of replacement income. A delayed decision can mean depleted savings, missed payments, growing debt, and increased anxiety at a time when a claimant is already managing a medical condition.

An attorney can help establish a documented communications history, identify outstanding requests, clarify what information has actually been submitted, and determine whether a delay raises concerns under the applicable policy or law.

  1. Denials Based on an Alleged Lack of Medical Evidence

A common point of dispute in long-term disability insurance claims is whether the medical record sufficiently demonstrates functional impairment.

A claimant may have extensive treatment records, diagnostic testing, specialist evaluations, and restrictions documented by treating physicians, yet still receive a denial asserting that the evidence does not establish disability. The central issue is not necessarily whether medical records exist, but whether the insurer has adequately evaluated what those records demonstrate about the claimant’s ability to work.

A diagnosis alone does not automatically establish entitlement to benefits. Conversely, the absence of a single definitive test does not necessarily establish that a person can perform the material duties of their occupation. Many conditions, including chronic pain, autoimmune disorders, neurological conditions, and certain psychiatric illnesses, require an assessment of symptoms, treatment history, functional limitations, and the demands of employment.

Treating physicians’ opinions can be important, but their conclusions may need to be supported by specific clinical findings and a clear explanation of work-related restrictions. An effective claim record connects the medical evidence to the actual duties the claimant can no longer perform.

An attorney can identify gaps in that connection, obtain clarification from treating providers, and challenge an insurer’s interpretation when it overlooks material evidence or applies an unsupported standard.

An example of this can be seen in Sherrell v. Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada  (No. 20 C 7519, 2022 WL 484396).

  1. Internal Medical Reviews and Conflicting Opinions

Disability Insurers often rely on medical consultants who review records without personally examining the claimant. Many insurance companies own all or part of third-party reviewing businesses, run by doctors and nurses who never see an actual patient. Others just pay millions of dollars per year to these vendors.  Their employer is the insurance company, and their paychecks are dependent on their performance. This inherent conflict means a review performed by internal personnel or outside consultants may not, and often is not, truly independent. This was the issue in DeLisle v. Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada (558 F.3d 440, 6th Cir. 2009)

A records-based review is not inherently improper. The difficulty arises when a consultant’s conclusions fail to engage with significant symptoms, longitudinal treatment records, examination findings, or restrictions documented by the claimant’s treating providers.

For example, a reviewer might conclude that a claimant retains the capacity to perform sedentary work based on isolated observations that the claimant can sit, walk briefly, communicate effectively, or perform limited daily activities. Those observations do not necessarily establish the ability to sustain full-time employment, maintain productivity, attend reliably, or complete work tasks throughout a normal workday.

The distinction between performing an activity occasionally and sustaining it consistently is often critical.

Legal counsel can compare the insurer’s medical rationale with the underlying records, identify material omissions or inconsistencies, and help secure more specific medical evidence addressing the relevant occupational demands. The objective is not to assume that an insurer’s consultant is wrong, but to determine whether the opinion is adequately supported.

  1. Lengthy Denial Letters Can Obscure the Real Dispute

A detailed denial letter is not necessarily evidence of improper conduct. Insurers are required to explain their decisions and identify the policy provisions on which they rely.

 Sun Life is known for sending more detailed denial letters to claimants than many other insurers, who tend to send a short denial letter. A lengthy letter listing numerous alleged deficiencies can be difficult for a claimant to evaluate, particularly when the claimant is seriously ill, experiencing cognitive symptoms, or struggling with the financial consequences of losing benefits. Sometimes these letters can be intimidating to the claimant.

The important task is to separate the substance of the denial from its presentation. Does the letter identify the applicable definition of disability? Does it explain why the medical evidence fails to satisfy that definition? Does it address significant contrary evidence? Does it identify additional information that would meaningfully resolve the dispute? Are its reasons consistent with the actual policy language?

Each stated reason should be examined individually. A denial may rest on an incorrect interpretation of the policy, an incomplete understanding of the claimant’s occupation, an inadequate evaluation of medical evidence, or a dispute over whether the claimant can perform another occupation.

An experienced long term disability  lawyer can translate the denial into a structured response, identify which issues require medical clarification, and ensure that the response  addresses the insurer’s actual reasoning rather than merely repeating the original claim submission.

  1. Settlement Offers That Undervalue Claims

A particularly consequential situation arises when an insurer questions continuing eligibility for benefits while offering a lump-sum settlement.

In this context, an offer described as materially below the potential value of the claim may be more precise than the colloquial term “lowball.” The concern is not simply that the proposed amount is less than the claimant hoped to receive. It is whether the offer adequately reflects the benefits at stake, the policy’s terms, the risks of continued litigation, and the financial consequences of accepting a final resolution.

A claimant facing the prospect of losing monthly income may feel considerable pressure to accept an immediate payment. If the offer arrives alongside a warning that benefits may be terminated or denied, the claimant may have little time or emotional capacity to evaluate the alternatives objectively.

The value of a disability claim is rarely calculated by multiplying the current monthly benefit by an assumed number of future months. A meaningful analysis may need to account for the claimant’s age, policy provisions, benefit duration, cost-of-living adjustments if applicable, offsets for other income, potential changes in the definition of disability, the likelihood of continued eligibility, the time value of money, and the risks associated with disputing the claim.

Tax treatment may also affect the net value of a settlement, depending on how premiums were paid and the governing tax rules. The release language matters as well: a settlement may extinguish rights to future benefits or other claims that the claimant has not fully considered.

An attorney experienced in disability insurance can evaluate the proposed terms, model reasonable financial scenarios, assess the legal risks, and negotiate from an informed position. Not every settlement is inadequate, and not every claimant should reject a lump sum. The point is that a decision with potentially permanent financial consequences should not be made under pressure without understanding what is being surrendered.

  1. Why the Appeal Process Requires More Than Resubmitting Records

A disability appeal is not simply another opportunity to send the insurer the same paperwork. It should respond directly to the reasons for the adverse decision and develop the evidence needed to address them.

For many employer-sponsored disability plans, the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA) governs the claims and appeals process. The precise legal framework depends on the plan and circumstances; some policies and claims are governed by different state or federal rules.

Where ERISA applies, federal regulations establish requirements for disability benefit claims procedures, including provisions addressing adverse determinations, appeals, and access to relevant claim materials. The U.S. Department of Labor provides guidance on these requirements.

An appeal may require a careful review of the policy or plan documents, the complete claim file, the insurer’s medical reviews, vocational assessments, surveillance, or activity evidence if any was considered, and the explanation for the denial. It may also require updated clinical evidence, functional capacity information, or a more detailed account of the claimant’s occupational duties.

Timing is critical. An appeal deadline stated in the denial letter should be treated seriously, and the claimant should not assume that continued telephone discussions extend it. In an ERISA-governed claim, the administrative appeal can have substantial implications for any later lawsuit, making it important to identify and develop the relevant evidence before the appeal is submitted.

An attorney can help determine which rules apply, calculate deadlines, request relevant records, and build a focused evidentiary response.

  1. Policy Definitions, Benefit Offsets, and Termination Risks

Even when a claimant initially qualifies for benefits, eligibility may be reassessed over time. Some policies distinguish between the inability to perform the material duties of one’s own occupation and the inability to perform the duties of other occupations for which the claimant may be reasonably suited.

The transition between these definitions can become a major point of dispute. A claimant who cannot return to a specialized former position may still face an argument that another form of employment is possible. Whether that conclusion is justified depends on the policy language, the claimant’s functional limitations, and the relevant vocational evidence.

Benefit calculations create another layer of complexity. Certain policies reduce monthly payments by specified sources of other income, while others contain limitations, exclusions, or provisions affecting the duration of payments. The exact terms control.

Legal review can help identify whether an insurer has applied the correct disability definition, calculated offsets properly, or relied on vocational assumptions that do not reflect the claimant’s actual limitations.

What Claimants Should Do When a Sun Life Claim Is Delayed or Denied

Claimants can take several practical steps to protect their position:

  • Keep copies of every claim form, medical record, letter, email, and submission confirmation.
  • Maintain a dated log of telephone calls, including the representative’s name and any commitments made.
  • Obtain the complete policy or plan documents and read the definition of disability, exclusions, benefit limitations, and appeal provisions.
  • Ask treating providers to explain specific functional limitations and how those limitations affect the material duties of the claimant’s occupation.
  • Review every stated reason for denial and note the evidence or policy language that appears relevant to each issue.
  • Calendar all appeal deadlines and seek legal advice promptly when benefits are denied, terminated, or offered in exchange for a release.

These steps do not guarantee approval. They do, however, help create a clearer record of what happened and what remains in dispute.

Understanding the Claim Is the First Step Toward Protecting It

Sun Life’s size and reputation do not determine whether a particular disability claim has been handled correctly. That question must be answered by examining the governing policy, the evidence, the claims process, and the reasons for the insurer’s decision.

 

 

Jason newfield

Jason Newfield

Long Term Disability Attorney

Founder Jason Newfield understands the importance of the disability claimants’ cases he takes on. Unlike most of his peers, he has represented family in this process. He knows how much is at stake, and this is why he works one-on-one with clients. Your case will not be passed along to a junior associate to handle. Mr. Newfield will be involved in every part of your case. This personal representation makes a big difference. It is where the passion meets the compassion.

FIle folders for disability accompany an article about the importance of deadlines for disability claims
Oct 22, 2026

Why Are Deadlines So Important to Disability Insurance Claims?

You wouldn’t miss a deadline on an investment generating $160,000. But neglecting...

Read More..
Female doctor holding pink ribbon representing breast cancer awareness
Oct 14, 2026

Breast Cancer Awareness Month: When the Fight Doesn’t End After Treatment

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. But for many women, surviving breast...

Read More..
Sep 28, 2026

MassMutual Disability Insurance Claims: Why Your Doctor’s Documentation Matters

Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company, commonly known as MassMutual, offers disability insurance...

Read More..
Call: 877-406-7883 Free Case Review